Cooking with the Kings

IMG_3642.JPG
Recently, we tried out a meal delivery service. I know they’ve been around for a while and I have finally given in to give it a go. Honestly, I used to…not think so highly of these services because I felt like I could do it on my own. Why would I want a company to send me a box of groceries with recipes, when I am fully capable of doing it on my own. One additional child later… I ask myself why I have taken so long.
The perfectly portioned boxes have sparked the interest of my 9 year old. We joke and pretend like he is on his way to becoming a Master Chef Junior. He has a long way to go, but the easy to follow instructions have given him the confidence to participate more in the kitchen with me again. The diverse recipes have also helped introduce him to cultural foods we normally wouldn’t even think of trying out on our own.
The service isn’t the cheapest route to go, but it did help us reduce the amount of our waste and took the hassle of figuring out what was for dinner.
I think what I love most is being able to include my son.Its one thing for me to teach him family recipes from my memory and direction, but its another for us to learn and practice recipes together. Its probably also helpful that the directions aren’t coming from his Mom…so naturally he is less resistant. This service will probably be something fun to do together once a month or so to get in some good family bonding!

IMG_3635.JPG

Leave a Reply

